Kenya are 2017 Cecafa Champions!


Third place

Uganda 2-1 Burundi


Kenya 2-2 Zanzibar (3-2 penalty shootout)

Hosts Kenya were crowned 2017 Cecafa Senior Challenge Cup champions after beating Zanzibar 3-2 on penalty shootout yesterday at Moi Sports Complex in Kisumu.

Kenya took the lead through Ovella Ochieng in the 5th minute before Kassim Khamis made it 1-1 in the 89th minute to take the game into extra-time.

Striker Masud Juma put again Kenya ahead in the 98th minute before Khamis cancelled it out two minutes later. The teams went into decisive penalties, with Kenya winning in the end 3-2.

Ahmed Said, Khamis Musa and Mohammed Issa missed the spot-kicks for Zanzibar Heroes, with Mudathir Abbas and Dan Abdul converting their spotkicks. Harambe Stars scored through Jockins Atudo, Wesley Onguso and Samuel Onyango, while Duncan Otieno missed out.